top of page


The Ada Arts Council presents two annual scholarships
in honor of former board members.

2024 application are closed.

Criswell Memorial Scholarship - $400

Apply Now

The Criswell Memorial Scholarship was established by the Criswell family in honor of Ada businessman, Jerry Criswell. Jerry was an avid supporter of the arts and former president of the Ada Arts Council.


The candidate must be a rising university senior, graduate student, or professional in the arts: theater, dance, visual arts, music, creative writing. The scholarship is to assist in their continuing education in their area of the arts.


The scholarship is open to all native or legal residents of Pontotoc County. If the candidate is not a resident, but one of their parents or guardians is a legal Pontotoc County resident, then the candidate can still apply.

Applications are due April 12, 2024, and the award for 2024 will be in the amount of $400 total. Email completed forms to  

Eleanor Wight Scholarship - $400

Apply Now

Eleanor Wight was a wife, mother, artist and local French teacher. She was a very active member and officer of the Ada Arts Council and a strong supporter and advocate for the arts through the 1970s and early 1980s. In honor of Mrs. Wight, the Ada Arts Council established the Eleanor Wight Scholarship, which later on was enhanced by another advocate for the arts, Betty Woods. The estate of the late Betty Woods provided the funds to fully endow the Wight Scholarship. Ensuring funding will be available for years to come to provide college assistance for students of the arts.

The candidate must be a Pontotoc County high school senior continuing their higher education in the arts (theater, dance, visual arts, music, creative writing, film/media, etc.).


Applications are due April 12, 2024, and the award for 2024 will be in the amount of $400 total

($200 provide by endowment and $200 provided by AAC) . Email completed forms to

bottom of page